My Internship Experience at 3Pillar Global

Kshitijkumar
5 min readNov 29, 2022

Since I was in school, I dreamed of working in a Multinational Company. This dream came true when I joined 3Pillar Global on 4th July 2022 as a Quality Engineer Intern.

For people who do not know about 3Pillar Global, it is a software product development MNC based in Virginia, USA. In India, it has an office located in Noida, Uttar Pradesh.

3Pillar Global Office at Noida

From the very beginning of my Computer Science journey at Bennett University, I always wanted to experience the work culture and perks of being in an MNC and this all started in 1st week itself when I received my joining kit.

After some document submissions and other formalities, my journey was all set to be a part of this organization.

My training began in 3rd week of July when we were taught about Agile Methodologies, Git, Github, and basic Frontend development (mainly CSS).

Software Testing Training

After this, training of Manual Testing started, in which I learned about different types of test cases, writing test cases, reporting bugs, scenario-based testing, and Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC). We also had assessments based on these training sessions where I tested some real-time applications.

To develop our grammar and soft skills, all the interns were enrolled in the Campus to Corporate Programme. This is an 18 week long program to make us understand the culture of our organization and to make us industry ready.

Starting in mid-August, we started learning Automation Testing. We had training sessions on Java, Selenium, TestNG, Page Object Model, API Testing, and Database Testing.

Demo Sprints

After completing these training sessions, I got a chance to participate in two Demo Sprints (each Sprint of 2 weeks), where I got complete practical knowledge of the following Scrum Ceremonies:

  1. Sprint Planning: During this, all the interns were shown the demo of the application to be tested and JIRA tickets were assigned to everyone which included the user stories of one of their internal applications.
  2. Daily Standup: This is where we used to tell our working statuses of the previous day in a 15 minutes meeting.
  3. Sprint Review: This was done at the end of the sprint, where we analyzed what were the things done throughout the sprint.
  4. Sprint Retrospective: This was also done at the end of the sprint where we concluded what could have been done better during the sprint and the feedback was given to the Scrum Master.

During the first sprint, I got a good hands-on idea about using JIRA, which is a popular software project management and issue-tracking tool.

Automation of OrangeHRM

The second sprint I participated in was the Automation Testing of the OrangeHRM website, a human resource management tool that provides functionalities such as adding new office details, employee details, performance analysis of employees, attendance tracking, and much more. I used Java, Selenium, and TestNG for automating different features of this website.

OrangeHRM Dashboard

Similar Scrum ceremonies were followed during this sprint. And after completing these sprints, I finally got assigned to the live project in October.

Live Project Assigned and Upskilling Begins

The project is of Centene, which is a large medical insurance company in the USA. The project is of converting monolithic applications to microservices which is being used by million of Centene’s subscribers.

When I joined the team, I got to know that the tech stacks are very different in this project from what I learned during my QA Automation Training. For working on this project, I needed to learn JavaScript and Cypress.

For learning JavaScript, I was provided documentation on JS and was also given programming questions for the same to make me familiar with the syntax and functions of JS.

Automation of Swag Labs

In November, my Cypress Upskilling started. During the first few days, I learned about Cypress, and then I was given assignments to automate the Swag Labs website, which is a mini version of e-commerce websites having functionalities such as adding items to the cart, removing items from the cart, and ordering items. I automated these features using JavaScript and Cypress.

Swag Labs Dashboard

I automated these features using JavaScript and Cypress. And recently, I have been assigned the task to automate the SpiceJet website. After this, my upskilling will be completed and I will start working on Centene Project.

Conclusion

To summarize my experience at 3Pillar Global, the working culture here is really good. The mentors always gave me new challenges and motivated me to learn things on my own but were always there whenever I needed them. And as 3Pillar claims that it is a Great Place to Work”, I could not agree more.

I would like to express my gratitude towards all my mentors and peers who helped me throughout this 5 months of journey. Also, a special thanks to the Career Services Center and School of Computer Science and Technology of Bennett University, without them all of this would not have been possible.

To know more, follow this link:

Thanks for reading this blog!!!

--

--